My new SVJ costume:
Well, I decided to build an Atris costume. What's more, I need to get it finished in 2 weeks. Riiiiiight......

So.

It all started with bit of time studying KOTOR, and looking at the Costuming Standards, to work out how I was going to build it.

[Image: atris_.jpg]

Next, I went down to the local fabric store and bought some supplies.

6m x white bridal satin
2m x iron on interfacing (for collars, and tabbards)

There's two main components to the costume that I needed to create. The undergarment (Kimono) and the tabbards.

Kimono:
I studied a few online traditional kimono patterns, and decided that I needed to slighly modify the pattern a bit, from the traditional Kimono design:
[Image: Japanese_kimono_woman_made_in_Japan_.jpg]
The sleeves are way to big, and the bottom of the skirt is way to narrow.

So, I ended up creating my own, very basic pattern:
[Image: Atris%20001%20%28Small%29.JPG]

And then I set about cutting, pinning, ironing, sewing and creating:
[Image: Atris%20004%20%28Small%29.JPG]
[Image: Atris-006-%28Small%29.jpg]

- Now, this final shot looks pretty big, because there's no Obi holing the waist in.

Tabbards:

I've then gone through my KOTOR files and found the digital game skin for Atris, so that I can duplicate the lines and the designs for the Tabbards:
[Image: Atris_Game_Skin.jpg]

Resized, copied, traced:
[Image: Atris-007-%28Small%29.jpg]

And now I'm going to embroider that design onto the satin (with interfacing behind it to stabilise the material and prevent puckering). It's going to take a LONG TIME!!!
[Image: Atris%20001%20%28Small%29_2.JPG]

I'll post more pics as I go, but really hoping to get this all completed in the next week!
I survived Dreamworld 2010CVI
DW2011CVII
DW2012
DW2013
DW2014
DW2015
That is going to be Stunning :D
[Image: jImnAK.jpg]
Wow, you have some talent there. Thats awesome.
Damn thats so hard work going on there! Good job, it's gonna look great.
Cheers, Todd "Voyd" TK6086 - Shiny all the way.